2023 Polar Music Award winner Angelique Kidjo receives 57,700 dollars


Angélique Kidjo, a renowned singer-songwriter from Benin, has been named a co-winner of the 2023 Polar Music Award.

The 62-year-old, together with British music executive Chris Blackwell and Estonian composer Arvo Pärt, won the renowned Swedish music prize.

The prize money for the winners is 600,000 kroner ($57,700) each.

Kidjo becomes just the third African to receive the honor, which is given each year to people, organizations, and groups in appreciation of their outstanding musical accomplishments.

South African singer Miriam Makeba was the first African to get the honor in 2002. Youssou N’Dour of Senegal won it in 2013.

With more than 150 awards under her belt, including five Grammys, Angélique Kidjo is currently the most decorated female singer in Africa.

-All Rights Reserved-
Permission to use any material, including text, still photograph, audio and video from this site is granted subject to permission being formally sought and, if granted, appropriate credit must duly be given to The News Room as the source.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!