South Africa, 6 others bidding to host the 2027 Women’s World Cup: FIFA


FIFA, football’s world governing body, announced on Monday that four proposals for the 2027 Women’s World Cup had been received.

The hosts will be chosen at the FIFA Congress in May of the following year.

Germany, Belgium, and the Netherlands have submitted a combined expression of interest to host the event, while the United States and Mexico have also submitted a joint offer.

The other two countries to make bids were Brazil and South Africa.

FIFA stated that the Bidding Agreement would be sent to all interested countries, who will have until May 19 to confirm their involvement.

“We are delighted by the expressions of interest received, not least because they come from member associations with strong football traditions from four confederations…” stated FIFA Secretary General Fatma Samoura.

“All member-associations can rely on the most robust and comprehensive bidding process in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup.”

On May 17, 2024, the FIFA Congress will select the hosts by public voting.

The competition, which begins on July 20, will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.

The men’s World Cup will be co-hosted by the United States, Mexico, and Canada in 2026.


-All Rights Reserved-
Permission to use any material, including text, still photograph, audio and video from this site is granted subject to permission being formally sought and, if granted, appropriate credit must duly be given to The News Room as the source.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!