2023 elections: Complete list of 257 judges to hear petitions


According to the National Judicial Council (NJC), 257 judges will consider petitions emerging from Nigeria’s general elections in 2023.

The Presidential Election Petition Tribunal and the State Election Petition Tribunals are set to resume full operations in May, following the Worker’s Day holiday.

Nigerians’ attention has switched to the tribunals as dissatisfied candidates in the February 25 and March 18 elections seek to overturn their victory.

All winners of various offices have received Certificates of Return from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Hundreds of applications have already been submitted to challenge the results of the presidential, National Assembly, gubernatorial, and state assembly elections.

According to a document obtained by News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Friday, the judges were picked from various state High Courts, Federal High Courts, Federal Capital Territory High Courts, and the National Industrial Courts across the country, including the National Industrial Court.

The judges, according to the text, “will be responsible for adjudicating disputes arising from general elections into various offices.”

The judges from Abia State include C.O. Onyeabo, Ory Zik-Ikeorha, C.H. Ahuchaogu, A.O. Chijioke, K.C.J. Okereke, L.T.C. Eruba, Benson Anya, Nweke Philomena, A.O. Phoeba, and C.K. Nwankwo.

Those from Adamawa State include Justices H.N.H. Joda, B.I. Ladukiya, Musa Usman, K.L. Samuel, A.J. Balami and K.Z.U. Modibbo.

The judges from Akwa Ibom State include P.P. Idiong, A.D. Odokwo, O.A. Okon, F.J. Ibanga, and N.M. Obot.

From Benue State are Justices W.I. Kpochi, T.A. Kume, T.T. Asua, P.T. Kwahar, M.T. Ugar, A.I. Ityonyman, M.M. Odinya, and I. Muhammed.

From Borno State are Justices H.Y. Mshelia, A.Z. Musa, U.S. Sakwa, M.G. Abubakar and Binta Othman.

The judges from Cross River State are F.N. Isoni, E.O. Abua, O.I. Ofem, A.A. Ewah, U.A. Ibrahim, E.I. Ebri, I.B. Etape, and E.A. Ubua.

From Delta State are Justices A.O. Apkovi, F.N. Azinge, C.N. Ogadi, E.N. Ejiro, T.O. Uloho, M.O. Omovie, C.O. Emifoniye, and C.I. Dafe (Delta State).

From Ebonyi State are Justices H.A. Njoku, B.A.N Ogbu, N.E. Nwibo, C.E. Eze, I.P. Chima, O. Elekwa, T.A. Achom, and U. Onwosi.

The judges from Edo State are Justices V.O. Eboreime, J.O. Okeaya, Irele-Ifijeh, V.O.A. Oviawe, I.P. Braimoh, and T.I. Eghe-Abe.

From Ekiti State are Justices A.L. Ogunmoye, A.A. Adeleye, L.O. Ogundana, E.B. Omotoso, A.O. Familoni, J.A. Apuabi, and O.O. Oluboyede.

From Enugu State are Justices R.O. Odugu, E.N. Oluedo, N.R. Oji, C.A.B. Onaga, U.J. Nweze, and E.N. Alukwu.

From Kaduna State are Justices E.Y.B. Lolo, K. Dabo, M.T. Rashid, M.N. Sidi, A.Y. John, and E. Michael.

From Kano State are Justices M. Yusuf Ubale, A.A. Amina, I.M.M Karaye, N. Saminu, J.S. Suleiman, S.A. Maryam, S.M. Ado, and A.A. Maiwada.

Justice A.B. Abdullahi, Justice A.K. Tukur, Justice I.W. Baraka, Justice B.U. Safiya, Justice I.I. Mashi, Justice L. Umar, Justice A. Yarima, and Justice M.D. Hadiza (Katsina State).

Justice A.M. Abubakar, Justice A.Y. Birnin Kudu, Justice I. Ya’u, and Justice N. Zargina (Jigawa State).

Justice M.U. Dogondaji, Justice A.G. Sifawa, Justice M. Mohammed, Justice S. Shehu, Justice M.A. Sambo, Justice D.Y. Danjega, Justice B.Y. Tambuwa, and Justice B. Ibrahim (Sokoto State).

Justice B.M. Tukur, Justice H. Mikailu, Justice B.M. Kucheri, Justice I.H. Ismaila, Justice U. AbdulNasir, Justice S.G. G/Bore, and Justice B. Rabi (Zamfara State).

Justice U. Abubakar, Justice N.I. Umar, Justice S.B. Shuaibu, Justice F.H. Bunza, Justice S.K. Manya, Justice A.S. Bello, Justice S.U. Mukhtar, and Justice U.A. S/Kudu (Kebbi State).

From Taraba State: Justice S. Haruna, Justice A.B. Abbare, Justice C.J. Katabs, Justice M.A. Badamasi, Mrs E. Tata (CM) and Mr K.A.A. Yara (UAC)

From Yobe State: Justice M.Z. Usman, Justice K.B. Yusuf, Justice M. Kyari, Justice H.L. Musa, Justice H.S. Tahir, Justice K.M.B Inuwa, and Justice A.K. Kime.

From Gombe State: Justice A.M. Yakubu, Justice H.H. Kereng, Justice S.Y. Abubakar, Justice M. Fatima, Justice D.S. Sikkam, Justice M.A. Haruna, Justice B.H. Abbayo, and Justice M.I. Gombe.

Justice F. Ajayi, Justice S. Umar, Justice M.M. Gwatana, Justice A.S. Husaini, Justice S. Zubayru, Justice B. Aina, and Justice D. Yakubu (Kogi State).

Justice M.O. Opara, Justice G.C. Aguma, Justice F. Onyiri, Justice L.T. Senewo, Justice F.A. Fiberesima, Justice L. Ngbor-Abina, Justice O.D. Gbasam, and Justice S.S. Popnen (Rivers State).

Justice A.I. Ashom, Justice N.J. Dadi, Justice T. Zololo, Justice G.M. Kamyal, Justice V. Dadom, Justice D.S. Damulak, Justice S.S. Fomber, Justice B.M. Bassi (Plateau State).

Justice R.G. Soji, Justice A.M. Mainoma, Justice S.A. Ayiwulu, Justice A.A. Ozegyu, Justice M.A. Ramat, Justice J.K. Kurape, and Justice A.T. Chanbo (Nasarawa State).

Justice M. Abdullahi, Justice S.T. Zainab, Justice Y.G. Bilkisu, Justice I. Usman, Justice I. Hauwa Kulu, Justice L.M. Amina, and Justice M.I. Khadijat (Niger State).

From Lagos State: Justice M.O. Obadina, Justice J.E. Oyefeso, Justice A.O. Opesanwo, Justice L.B.L. Akapo, Justice J.A. Kudirat, Justice S.S. Ogunsanya, Justice I.O. Akinkugbe, and Justice O.A. Adamson.

From Ogun State: Justice C.C. Ogunsanya, Justice O. Ogunfowora, Justice A.A.S. Femi, Justice A.O. Araba, Justice A.A. Adewole, Mr I.O. Awofeso (CM) and Mr D.I. Dipeolu (CM)

From Osun State: Justice A.A. Ajeibe, Justice A.O. Ayoola, Justice K.M. Akano, Justice A.L. Adegoke, Justice M.O. Agboola, Justice S.A. Oke, Justice M.O. Okediya, and Justice A.O. Adenji.

From Ondo State: Justice O.A. Osadebay, Justice P.O. Ikujuni, Justice W.R. Olamide, Justice O. Sunday, Justice J.O. Abe, Justice A. Enikuomehin, Justice T.M. Adedipe, and Justice A.E. Akeredolu.

Justice G.A. Sunmonu, Justice O.M. Fadeyi, Justice E.O. Ajayi, Justice M.L. Owolabi, Justice M.I. Sule, Justice L.A. Ganiyu, Justice B.A. Taiwo, and Justice O.A. Adetujoye (Oyo State).

Justice A.A. Adebara, Justice A.S. Halima, Justice A. Gegele, Justice F.D. Lawal, Justice J.Z. Umar, Justice M.A. Oniye, Mrs O.I. Olabisi, and Justice K. Abdul-Latif (Kwara State).

Justice L.C. Azuama, Justice K.A. Ojiako, Justice B.C. Iheka, Justice S.I. Okpara, Justice V.I Onyeka, Justice E.N. Eke, Justice K.A Leweanya, and Justice J.I. Obichere (Imo State).

From Bayelsa: Justice J.B. Egele, and Justice TY Abasi

From the Federal Capital Territory High Court: Justice M.E. Anenih, Justice O.A. Adeniyi, Justice A.I. Kutigi, Justice A.O. Otaluka, Justice Y Halilu, Justice A.O. Ebong, Justice B. Hassan, Justice E. Enenche, and Justice A.S. Usman.

From the Federal High Court: Justice A.A. Okeke, Justice M.A. Onytenu, Justice H.R.A. Shagari, and Justice J.O. Abdulmalik

For the National Industrial Court: Justice I.S. Galadima, Justice S.H. Danjidda, and Justice K.D. Damuak.

-All Rights Reserved-
Permission to use any material, including text, still photograph, audio and video from this site is granted subject to permission being formally sought and, if granted, appropriate credit must duly be given to The News Room as the source.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!